Light and Shadow

by Nate Smith

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $6 USD  or more




...I wanted to write something that felt cinematic - something with a sense of urgency. I wanted to create something that was both beautiful and painful - eloquent and earnest. I am grateful to the musicians who contributed their gifts. I hope you enjoy the music. Thanks so much for listening.

- Nate


released April 10, 2020

Van Hunt, vocals + guitar, track 2
Jermaine Holmes, vocals track 4
James Francies, synth solo track 4
Juliette Jones, Violin
Monique Brooks-Roberts, Violin
Jarvis Benson, Viola
Malcolm Parson, cello
Rootstock Republic, LLC, contractor
Strings arranged and conducted by Nate Smith

Nate Smith, drums, piano, all other instruments and sounds

Produced by Nate Smith for Waterbaby Music, Inc

Mixed by Jesse Singer and Chris Soper at LikeMinds Studios, Los Angeles

All songs composed and arranged by Nate Smith except:

"Start Over" written by Nate Smith and Amma Agyapon

"(If Love Won’t) Can We Forgive Ourselves?"
written by Nate Smith and Van Hunt

Recorded by Chris Allen at Sear Sound
Recorded by Todd Carder at Bunker Studios

Mastered by Oscar Zambrano at Zampol Productions NYC

Cover Illustration by Johnalynn Holland
Based on a photo by Deneka Peniston
Text Layout by John Tymkiw

James Francies appears courtesy of Blue Note Records
Special Thanks: Chris Weller, Tina Priceman, Aimée Allen, Johnalynn Holland, Theo Smith, Amma Whatt, Van Hunt, Jermaine Holmes, James Dyson, Anthony Lewis, Debórah Bond, Robert Glasper and Brittany Howard.


all rights reserved



Nate Smith New York, New York


contact / help

Contact Nate Smith

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Nate Smith, you may also like: